Gransnet forums

Grandparenting

I didn't know about honey!!

(148 Posts)
Grantasticpasta Mon 23-Jan-17 20:23:16

I am new to Gransnet, but had to ask someone. Since when did honey become dangerous??! I have a great relationship with grandkids, but got told off for giving little one (just turned 1) honey today. DIL said it with a smile, but I feel out of date. I hate to think I have put the little one at risk. What else don't I know??!!

Iam64 Mon 23-Jan-17 20:25:53

Oh No, whatever it is Grantasticpasta, I'm in your gang.
My girls are fairly laid back about their toddlers, thankfully. I do recall one of them saying honey was now considered inappropriate for babies under 12 months.

grannypiper Mon 23-Jan-17 20:28:40

inappropriate ? heavens, this world has gone mad. Are children allowed to eat anything

mcem Mon 23-Jan-17 20:31:33

Ok at one and older once gut has matured enough to deal with possible spores.

ginny Mon 23-Jan-17 20:31:46

Advice is so different now even from when my first DGS was born 14 years ago.
Today my DD3 said they would have to buy DGS , just one year old today, his first shoes. He is walking holding hands but not on his own. We were told not to put them in shoes until they could walk competently on their own. In face Clarks would not sell them to you until then.. Now they are told to buy them as once they are on their feet and moving a few steps even if not their own.

ginny Mon 23-Jan-17 20:32:15

On their own !

Grantasticpasta Mon 23-Jan-17 20:36:13

I know! I have checked it on the NHS page and she is right. We had a similar awkwardness in the summer when I suggested little one had water when it was so hot. That was not right either. I wish it didn't make me feel like this, I feel cross and a bit thick.

Grantasticpasta Mon 23-Jan-17 20:39:01

Ah yes mcem, OK after one year old. I just didn't know it was a thing.

Iam64 Mon 23-Jan-17 20:41:55