Gransnet forums

Grandparenting

Help! I’m new at this!

(65 Posts)
Newnan1 Thu 21-Oct-21 09:43:34

Hi, I’m hoping for some advice - I am a new GP & I would love to see more of my GC. I am a paternal GP & stupidly hadn’t thought that this would make a difference! I have been feeling a little sidelined, but after reading posts on this site & thinking rationally, I can understand how that would happen & that it isn’t personal. What I am really struggling with is how to word things when I message to see if I can visit. I am a terrible people pleaser & this is my constant downfall, I also don’t want people to feel pressure, so I usually say ‘if you need me I am free today!’ What I really mean is ‘can I come & visit’
How can I be more direct without making people feel like they have to say yes?!

Lucca Thu 21-Oct-21 09:45:39

It all depends on how much you are already seeing GC.

Germanshepherdsmum Thu 21-Oct-21 09:54:21

Personally I would prefer to wait until I was invited. Saying you are free ‘today’ really puts someone on the spot. Just letting them ask you round rather than inviting yourself, however it’s worded, is my advice. As a paternal GP you’re always likely to take second place as you know, assuming the maternal GPs live as close as you do.

Esspee Thu 21-Oct-21 09:55:52

“I would love to see you all. When is it convenient for me to come?”

Simple, to the point and not pushy.
How old is your grandchild?

Newnan1 Thu 21-Oct-21 10:18:28

My GC is 6 weeks old - so I really am very new at this!
So far I have seen her about once a week, for a couple of hours
I just feel that if I don’t put myself out there, then they may think that I’m not bothered or interested. I also thought that if I don’t contact them, then they might think ‘well she doesn’t bother with us, she can’t care!’

Bibbity Thu 21-Oct-21 10:19:22

How often are you seeing them at the moment? And how often did you see them before the baby?

Bibbity Thu 21-Oct-21 10:20:18

Sorry we cross posted.