Gransnet forums

Health

January tiredness

(71 Posts)
SussexGirl60 Sun 14-Jan-18 13:59:21

I know there’s a lot of ill health at the moment, but that aside, how many people just feel downright worn out and fed up in January? I work in the health industry so am supposed to fix myself(!) but every year is the same for me. I just have no energy at all once Christmas is over. I even had to come home early from a day out last week...and it was sunny and lovely but I just couldn’t drag myself around any more. Any tips on how to cope with this extreme need to just watch tv and eat chocolate?! Or should I just go with the flow?!

whitewave Sun 14-Jan-18 14:04:26

Yesterday I had a couldn’t be assed to do anything day and feel very demotivated this time of year. But I go with the flow as I think it is perfectly natural. Low light = low mood.

Wonder what they do in Scandinavia?

Anniebach Sun 14-Jan-18 14:06:04

I learned to go with the flow Sussexgirl, after years of feeling depressed and tired every January . I even use to buy students diaries because January was not the first month entered.

Bridgeit Sun 14-Jan-18 16:00:11

Definitely go with the flow, eat, drink, slouch,watch rubbish, don't answer the phone etc etc,

ElaineI Sun 14-Jan-18 20:38:21

It's the January lurgy! Weather is usually dull, cold, gloomy. Excitement of Christmas and New Year finished and next holidays/celebrations seem ages away. Still quite dark in morning and dark early evening. Also what is becoming more widely known is that in the UK we lack vitamin D which is probably at it's lowest in December/January. Bring on the Spring1

Smithy Sun 14-Jan-18 22:06:35

Sussex girl, I could have written that post tonight myself - exactly how I am feeling.