Gransnet forums

Health

Ct scans

(27 Posts)
Sue432 Wed 29-Mar-23 17:01:35

Hi all im newby and feeling worried after having a chest xray due to an ongoing cough, i have now been told its showing a couple of cm shadow on chest now awaiting a ct scan is there ever a good outcome from this or am i worrying too much

crazyH Wed 29-Mar-23 17:15:15

You’re worrying too much - I’m not a Doctor but shadows can mean anything - infection for instance, or other minor lung problems - following continuous cough etc CT scans showed I had Bronchiectasis - I also have asthma - they are not pleasant medical conditions , but you learn to live with it. Don’t worry too much. It could be showing an infection. Hope someone with more knowledge will give you a better idea

shysal Wed 29-Mar-23 17:16:53

I was referred for a CT scan after something showed up on chest x-ray. It turned out to be nothing to worry about - a fat pad. I hope you have a satisfactory outcome too. Whatever the result it is best diagnosed and treated early if necessary.
Good luck!

Sue432 Wed 29-Mar-23 17:18:00

Thank you for your reply i actually meant to put 5cm not a couple of cm i probably am worrying too much and hopefully it will be a good outcome thank you

Whiff Wed 29-Mar-23 17:32:47

Sue I have had several CT scans they show more than X rays can. If they had to inject dye don't worry it won't hurt you. Last one I had was in 2017 the dye may be different but the only thing I didn't like it made me feel very hot for a minute but it made my anus tingle . Not saying you will need the dye. But just relax while having the scan it doesn't hurt it's like a large doughnut the slide moves you through it. But noisy but it doesn't take long.

harrigran Wed 29-Mar-23 17:37:14

Chest infections can leave a shadow, try not to worry.

Sue432 Wed 29-Mar-23 17:40:43