Gransnet forums

House and home

Is it worth recovering sofas?

(140 Posts)
agapanthus Sat 25-Feb-12 16:55:30

Hi! I'm new to this so here goes.
We desparately need new loose covers on our two sofas , which are about 10 years old , but one of them has a 'saggy' seat (because its in a fav position), and the feather cushions on the back are droopy. They were Collins and Hayes . I was going to get a quote for new covers ,but apart from the environmental issue I wonder if it will be worth it financially. Any views or similar expeiences please?

artygran Sat 25-Feb-12 19:03:17

If your sofas have well made frames, which I suspect they do, I would get a good upholsterer in and ask for his advice. If he is worth his salt, he will be able to offer you plenty of choice of fabrics and fillings and some of them will even carry out remodelling if you want it. Most of the furniture you buy these days has been made in China and have frames that look as if they have been put together in a 1st year woodwork class. We inherited a suite that came originally from Harrods. It had a hand-built frame and we had it reupholstered, with new feather fillings in the back cushions and new filling in the seat cushions, and it was worth every penny. I wish we still had it. We only parted with it because it was too big for the house we moved to, and we bought G Plan sofas to replace it, which were good, but nowhere near the same quality. If you decide to buy new, get the best frame and springing you can find. If they can't tell you anything about either, walk out of the shop!

absentgrana Sun 26-Feb-12 09:56:48

artygran has hit the nail on the head. A lot of modern furniture is very poor quality and simply not worth trying to revive or, indeed, buying in the first place. However, your sofas sound as if rejuvenation would be a sound investment. I would do the same with mine, which are well made, but five cats can demolish new covers in 5 minutes.

kittylester Sun 26-Feb-12 10:55:58