Gransnet forums

Legal, pensions and money

Moving to retirement complex,been advised to change will need advice.

(26 Posts)
Elenkalubleton Thu 30-Jan-20 09:31:24

We are in the process of moving,husband been diagnosed with Alzheimer’s.a friend of a friend who is a Will writer has told us to sign the contract for our new place as “common tenancy”to protect either one of us from paying nursing home fees.Meaning the funds can only be used for whoever has to go into home,for there half of property.Another friend has told me that this is not necessary,and that the one remaining at home will never be made homeless.Also the Will writer has said he will make a new Will for us? Whereas I’ve also heard we just need to change the address on our original Will.I am needing to know what to do,and soon.Ive never had to do anything like this before,and finding the responsibilities difficult.Any advice,really appreciated.

Nanabanana1 Thu 30-Jan-20 09:34:30

Hi, sorry I have no experience of this but it would seem sensible to seek the advice of a solicitor.
Good luck in your new home.

Eglantine21 Thu 30-Jan-20 09:35:44

Go to an established solicitor. It really doesn’t cost that much. Your Will writer is giving you bad advice

glammanana Thu 30-Jan-20 09:42:50

Please go and see your solicitor who is dealing with your purchase and seek his/her advice do not rely on a friend of a friend he/she sounds as though he/she is touting for business.

luluaugust Thu 30-Jan-20 09:52:28

Same advice from me, a quick word with your Solicitor dealing with the purchase.

annsixty Thu 30-Jan-20 09:56:56

It is my understanding that the one left would not have to leave the property but the value of the property , or half of it ,could be used in the calculation of fees and then used after the second one dies or leaves the property.
With tenants in common, you can each leave half of the property to whomever you want.
This can also lead to problems if the “wrong one” dies first.