Gransnet forums

Invitation to take part in an online research study on body image in adults aged 65 years or over

(14 Posts)
MEDIA: RonZ Mon 05-Nov-18 16:09:08

Hello, my name is Ronald Zammit and I am a final year Trainee Clinical Psychologist at the University of Southampton. As part of my doctoral thesis, I am investigating how different types of mind-focusing techniques impact on how people aged 65 years and over think and feel about their bodies. As such, I am looking to recruit men and women aged 65 years and over who wish to take part in this study.

If you are 65 years or over and decide to take part, you will be asked to complete a set of questionnaires at the start and at the end of the study, which will take approximately 45 minutes to an hour on each occasion to complete. You will also undertake a 5-minute writing task related to how you feel and think about your body and listen to brief (approx. 10 minutes long) audio-recordings of mind-focusing techniques on a daily basis over a period of two weeks.

The study will take place entirely online, so there will be no travelling involved. You will require a device (e.g. computer, smartphone, iPad) with Internet access, basic computer skills and a modern web browser. It is recommended to use the latest version of your browser of choice. The web browsers which are compatible with the online survey software used for this study are Mozilla Firefox, Internet Explorer, Google Chrome, and Apple Safari.

By taking part in this study, you will be helping us to understand more about this topic and improve the quality of life of people in your age group.

As a thank you for taking part, you can choose to opt into a prize draw at the end of the study with a chance to win one of four £50 shopping vouchers.

If you are interested in taking part, please click the link below to find out more about the study. This link will also allow you to proceed to the study, should you decide to do so: