Gransnet forums

News & politics

Beyond belief!

(21 Posts)
Nandalot Fri 01-Mar-24 10:42:10

Jim Ratcliffe, CEO of Ineos, is closing down the Grangemouth oil refinery in Scotland but is being given a £600million grant/ subsidy by our government to build a new petro-chemicals plant in Antwerp. You couldn’t make it up.
He is also part owner of Manchester United and wants the government to pay for a new stadium
He is a Tory donor.

GrannyGravy13 Fri 01-Mar-24 10:46:26

I have no knowledge of the refinery/petro chemical deal.

As for the new stadium, it is being suggested as a national stadium for the north as opposed to solely having all big games at Wembley.

Louella12 Fri 01-Mar-24 10:48:29

I like him. I've met him a few times due to charity works.

He's in a different world to most of us.

Self made. Grew up in a council house. Now worth billions.

Nandalot Fri 01-Mar-24 10:57:44

Louella12, he may be a very nice man and do charity work, but that doesn’t explain to me why he wants funding for a project in Antwerp.

Baggs Fri 01-Mar-24 11:05:12

Is this the same company doing important antimicrobial research at Oxford and around the world so that when antibiotics become ineffective and things like childbirth or a cut could be fatal (as they used to be) there is some help out there?

keepingquiet Fri 01-Mar-24 11:06:26

brexit without Brexit?

Germanshepherdsmum Fri 01-Mar-24 11:11:49

It’s a green initiative. Ineos is a British company. If this initiative succeeds it will be a significant step in the fight to stop climate change.
www.energylivenews.com/2023/02/14/ineos-bags-e3-5bn-funding-for-europes-greenest-ethane-cracker/

Granny23 Fri 01-Mar-24 11:14:22