Gransnet forums

Chat

Losing a Loved one

(33 Posts)
helshea Wed 04-Jul-12 07:13:08

Hard to put into words all I am thinking at the moment, my father died yesterday and all I can think about now is making sure his funeral goes well and he is remembered the way he deserves. I need help on what to have sait at his funeral (although i myself will not be up to it) and firstly what to put in the paper from my mum myself and his grandchildren? Also what hymns poems etc. I just need to make sure its the best it can be!

HarveyHunnicut Sat 21-Sep-19 13:17:16

Hi everyone, I'm happy to be her. I'm a leading manager at writing company thesisleader.com/dissertation-writing-service/. I'm interested in learning new things. Also, I like collecting memories from countless trips in photo-shoots. My girlfriend says that the camera is my third eye.

Hunt Thu 12-Jul-12 23:36:58

Helshea, I couldn't bear to go shopping when my darling Dad died. I wanted to go up to all the happy people and say,'Stop laughing , my Dad has just died. We all wore pretty floral dresses because that was what he asked for. My sister made an apple pie and I made bread and butter pudding for after the service because those were his favourites. Do hope you manage to make the occasion memorable for you personally.

gracesmum Sun 08-Jul-12 21:33:23

Every sympathy Helshea - not an easy time for you but as others have said, do what you feel is right - cry, remember, laugh and celebrate his life, look at his GC and know how proud he must have been of them. There is a lovely passage from the very end of C.S. Lewis's The Last Battle which DD read at MIL's funeral 12 years ago, if you know it. I also particularly like Robert Burn's "An honest man here lies at rest" which I read at my father's funeral 11 years ago which seemed apt. Phoenix's poem is lovely. Whatever you choose- his was a life to be celebrated and rememberd with love and joy as well as sadness. flowers

flowerfriend Sun 08-Jul-12 20:06:11