Gransnet forums

Chat

regrets

(88 Posts)
etheltbags1 Fri 15-Aug-14 22:28:21

Does anyone feel like I do. I am approaching 60 later this year and I am thinking over and over again that my life has been wasted. I have never travelled much, my jobs have been boring and ordinary, I would have loved to have had a career. I have done lots of courses and got qualifications but there are never any jobs at the end of it. I now do a boring zero hours contract job and am unlikely to get anything else at my age. I think the reason has always been money, I have never had enough to spare to go to uni or to take time off work to travel.
. I have achieved having a lovely DD and DGD and I have no regrets regarding them as I love them very much but I would have liked to had more for me. If I had a good job I would feel more self confident, for instance I worked as a cleaner for a while just to fill in and I kept it secret thinking that I would be looked down upon as a cleaner.
I have spent all my life in a dream world, I read fiction to escape from the real world and even now if I find a good book I will avoid going out or even sometimes going to work just to read to escape.
I would love to be good looking, confident or just have a good job so that someone somewhere will be envious. I get told to be content but I think that to be content is the same as being dead, you have nothing left to strive for. Am I odd or do others regret much of their lifes like me.
I have a life of regrets

henetha Mon 25-Aug-14 21:39:55

Thank you, littleflo. So nice of you to comment. smile

hummingbird Mon 25-Aug-14 21:05:30

Philip Larkin seemed to understand the value of the ordinary in this poem to a new-born baby girl: I think of often!

'Tightly-folded bud,
I have wished you something
None of the others would:
Not the usual stuff
About being beautiful,
Or running off a spring
Of innocence and love —
They will all wish you that,
And should it prove possible,
Well, you’re a lucky girl.