Gransnet forums

Chat

Are you irritated by bicycles on the road?

(39 Posts)
Bazza Wed 29-Jul-20 11:01:14

I live in area where there are many bicycles on our quite narrow roads. Before all you cyclists let me know that they are kind to the environment, good exercise etc., yes, I absolutely agree. I would just like to know why, when there is a cycle lane, a lot refuse to use them. Why do they insist on cycling sometimes as much as four abreast? They frighten the life out of me when overtaking them. Is it just me?

vampirequeen Wed 29-Jul-20 11:26:23

I'm a cyclist and a driver. I can't stand some cyclists.

The ones that ride two, three or four abreast or in a big group. Yes I know you have the right to use the road too but if you're cycling at 10mph and I'm driving at 30mph then you should let motor vehicles pass.

The ones who refuse to use cycle lanes on busy roads. We live near one of the major routes out of the city. £millions was spent a few years ago creating cycle tracks so that the cyclists don't have to go on the road and risk their lives in 60mph traffic.

The ones who don't have/refuse to use a bell or warn pedestrians that they're about to overtake.

The ones who think the highway code doesn't apply to them so go through red lights or turn suddenly without indicating.

The ones who don't think they have to stop at zebra/pelican crossings.

The ones who insist on undertaking because there is a 6 inch space between the motor vehicle and the kerb.

Adult cyclists who don't stay with the children they're cycling with. It's no good rushing off at your normal speed and leaving the children to cope. They need protection and support as they learn to ride longer distances.

The ones who think they're visible when wearing dark clothing on dark roads. For heaven's sake buy some decent lights.

I love cyclists who remember that there are other road users and that cycle tracks are often paths too so watch out for pedestrians.