Gransnet forums

Pets

Anxious morning.

(30 Posts)
Katek Thu 14-Mar-19 12:26:38

My little cat Claudia is having dental work under sedation today. I’m sitting with the phone(s) beside me as the vet nurse said she’d call and let us know when she was coming round from sedation. I’m now trying to stop my imagination running away with me the more time that passes. Dh is of the ‘no news is good news’ school of thought, he’s probably right but still want that phone to ring!

ninathenana Thu 14-Mar-19 12:31:02

I worked as a vet's assistant for 10 yrs. Please relax, dental work is something we did on almost a daily basis and is straight forward particularly when performed without a GA.

grandtanteJE65 Thu 14-Mar-19 12:32:16

Hope Claudia is home and has forgiven you, Katek.

ninathenana Thu 14-Mar-19 12:33:25

P.S. it was always bottom of the surgery list, so more invasive procedures will likely happen before Caudia's turn.

1inamillion Thu 14-Mar-19 12:36:24

Your worry is understandable Katek but please don't. We've had a cat and a rabbit undergo a dental operation with the vet and both came through fine. You don't say how old Claudia is? The only risk comes with age and I'm sure the vet would have made you aware of that. Your little cat will be fine and back with you soon demanding your attention.

megan123 Thu 14-Mar-19 12:49:37

Katek you are understandably worried about Claudia. My dog had to have dental work and although they kept him for the day, he was fine. Everything will be alright and she will soon be home with you.

Katek Thu 14-Mar-19 14:43:57

Vets have just called-she’s fine! Still sleepy but has been a star apparently. Turns out she’s actually lost 6 teeth over the years and has now to have a toothbrush/paste! Much relieved, think she may get to sleep at end of the bed tonight as a treat!

shysal Thu 14-Mar-19 15:42:04