Gransnet forums

Relationships

Difficult Discussion

(7 Posts)
HildaW Mon 17-Jun-13 18:09:33

YankeeGran, I think perhaps an approach that starts from the point of view of his welfare might be the way to go. Suggesting that he will have problems making and keeping friends or might lead to him being teased and/or bullied.
Another thing has occurred to be, I might be well off the mark and I apologise if this offends but, if he is so pre-occupied by this behaviour might he have been introduced to it by someone else? I have no experience of such things but in my early years training we were taught that inappropriate attitudes to sexual behaviour (taken as part of a wider picture including signs of withdrawl and challenging behaviour) might be indicative of something else.
Do have that chat with your daughter, emphasise that all you want is this little boy to grow up happy and content. All the best.

YankeeGran Mon 17-Jun-13 17:33:23

Thank you for all your comments. My daughter and I are having a spa day together in a couple of weeks. I'm thinking of trying to raise the subject with her in this relaxed atmosphere but I'm just very nervous about what to say. Maybe I should send her a version of my opening comments (here) as these might be more neutral than anything I would say might sound.

HildaW Mon 17-Jun-13 16:48:09

Professional help definitely. A seven year old should know what is right and wrong in most areas of life: i.e. we don't steal, we don't hurt animals etc etc so if he has not taken on board what is acceptable in this area by now there needs to be another approach.

Nelliemoser Mon 17-Jun-13 12:40:11

I would definitely suggest his parents seek help. He could get info a lot of trouble if this behaviour is not controlled.

It might be easier for someone other than parents to talk to him about this. It is a very sensitive issue and if a parent does not feel really comfortable with how to tackle this they could make things worse.