Gransnet forums

Relationships

When to move on?

(20 Posts)
CraftyPagan Wed 03-Apr-24 12:30:25

I’m new to Gransnet, so hello to you all.

Last year was absolutely horrendous for me. My greyhound had to be pts in March, my husband died in July, I had to move house in August, was in hospital for a week with kidney stones in October, and four days after I came out, I was back in with my mum who died three days later.

After losing my husband and dog I was in a very bad way, was put on suicide watch for weeks, but I’m doing okay now. I’ve got a part time job, which helps. But I hate living alone, and would like male company again.

When is the right time to move on? My husband only died nine months ago, should I be thinking about moving on already? Is that disloyal?

I’ll never forget him or stop loving him, but I can’t wallow in grief and misery forever. I’m only 60, so could have years ahead of me. Will people think I’m awful wanting to let go and move on already?

Smileless2012 Wed 03-Apr-24 12:36:00

Hello CraftyPagan and welcome to GN.

The right time to move on is when it's right for you, everyone's different so there's no right or wrong time. You've been though so much in such a short space of time so do be aware that you're still probably emotionally vulnerable so my advice FWIW is not to rush into anything, but take your time flowers.

CraftyPagan Wed 03-Apr-24 12:41:12

Thanks for the reply.
Yes I’m still emotionally fragile, but also feel I don’t want to be wallowing in grief anymore, I don’t think it’s doing me any good.
But you’re right, there’s no rush.

Urmstongran Wed 03-Apr-24 13:04:52

You seem a person of extremes. Pretty labile.
You’ve gone from suicide watch to considering dating in what, nine months?
Blimey.

Germanshepherdsmum Wed 03-Apr-24 13:06:31

I agree with Smileless. Whatever feels right for you but take it slowly. Good luck and I’m glad your life is starting to improve after such an unimaginably terrible year. 💐