Gransnet forums

Style & beauty

Whiskers - how do you deal with them?

(78 Posts)
Smurf52 Thu 16-Nov-17 11:02:57

Isn't it awful that we get those nasty bristly things on our upper lip and chins. I've been grappling with them for around 10 years. Initially I tweezered them. I tried the hair remover strips but either i wasn't doing it right or they dont work properly. Then when I had more cash available I went to beauty salons and had the lip and chin wax. Now I'm retired I can't afford that any more it's back to tweezers. I have tried a small shaving implement called Flawless which is great for quickness but i get a stubble unless I do it twice a day. My sister was my late mother's carer and used to shave her chin every day. When my sister went away for 2 weeks on holiday my mum (who was in her eighties) had a growth on her chin that would make a navy officer proud - I dread my chin getting that much hair when I'm old. What do other grans do with their whiskers?

LaraGransnet (GNHQ) Thu 16-Nov-17 11:14:16

Hi smurf52 Sure there'll be others on in a minute with some tips but we put together some advice a little while ago based on a previous thread: www.gransnet.com/life-and-style/style-and-beauty/facial-hair-removal Hope it's helpful!

DanniRae Thu 16-Nov-17 14:57:22

I always pluck the thicker hairs almost every day and use hair removal cream every now and then to deal with the finer ones. I recommend Boots Facial Hair Removal Cream - it's the best I have ever tried.
I bought a magnifying mirror to take on holiday but failed to notice that it magnifies 10 x times. You have to be really brave to look in it but it really helps to find all the stray hairs!

Teetime Thu 16-Nov-17 15:46:59

I still have them waxed every month and I would rather go without something else than forgo that necessary procedure.

Coolgran65 Thu 16-Nov-17 15:51:34

Wax at a Salon every so often and pluck in between (usually while watching tv)

MissAdventure Thu 16-Nov-17 16:12:43