Gransnet forums

Style & beauty

Regaine

(94 Posts)
blondenana Thu 27-May-21 12:51:59

I have posted about this before,when i decided to try regains for hair loss
I wonder how long anyone who used it saw results
I have been using this for about 8 months now and no difference,
Do i carry on ?or give it up,as it is quite expensive?
Also is there any difference in the names Regaine and Minoxidil, i assumed it was the same thing
TIA

Kate1949 Thu 27-May-21 17:42:35

It didn't work for me. I must have spent thousands on trying to keep my hair. Sadly I lost it all anyway. What does it recommend on the instructions?

blondenana Fri 28-May-21 00:38:45

It does say it can take up to 32weeks to see a
difference but nothing.I remember you saying that you had lost all your hsir.but can't remember why now.
Mine has generally got thinner all over.but the bald patches stem from the crown down
I can cover it up to a point of I pup the top hair down over the patches.but fed up of wearing a hat I just wondered if minoxidil is the same as regaine just a different name
Thank you for your reply anyway

MiniMoon Fri 28-May-21 06:43:16

REGAINE® contains the active ingredient minoxidil, which is scientifically proven to help stop and reverse hereditary hair loss.
If your hair loss is due to something other than it being hereditary, then I think Regaine may be a waste of time and money.
Fortunately I don't suffer hair loss, but my sister worries about her thinning hair.

Kate1949 Fri 28-May-21 09:52:15

Mine is hereditary I believe. My mother lost her hair. As I said, it didn't work for me. I wish you luck blondenana. It's very distressing.

GrandmaRosie Mon 31-May-21 20:08:13

Viviscal is good for maintaining hair.

blondenana Tue 01-Jun-21 22:22:40