Gransnet forums

Technology

How to detect and frustrate a troll.

(19 Posts)
crimson Tue 18-Oct-11 18:15:28

I thought this was very topical as I'd been to see the film Troll Hunter on Sunday and thought I was an expert.

Carol Tue 18-Oct-11 17:45:26

Thankyou for those definitions. I have spotted one that I generally avoid if I see the name there - unpleasant and unwanted by genuine Gransnetters!

GadaboutGran Tue 18-Oct-11 17:18:27

Gosh, thanks for this warning. I never suspected this would happen on Gransnet even though I've had to give up being my too trusting self in so many other areas of life. I came on to this thread by chance. Could you put a troll warning & Josie's message in a prominent position so no one can miss it. Is there anything else we should be wary of?

JosieGransnet (GNHQ) Tue 26-Jul-11 10:17:48

Can I just reiterate, again, to report the post to Gransnet if you have any concerns at all and then we'll be able to deal with it as quickly as possible.

Joan Sun 24-Jul-11 05:33:50

I'm not all that clever at identifying trolls, though I did spot one on this forum eventually (The one about a supposedly bad DIL). I always have the feeling that they might be genuine but a little odd or disturbed.

I was once on a forum, now defunct, several years ago when a very nice, normal poster, a married man with a child, suddenly turned into a troll. Many feelings were hurt, and I think it led indirectly to the demise of that forum, which was called 'Yorkshire Posts'. (Someone tried a new 'Yorkshire Posts' later but it never took off as well.) It was my first forum and I really used to enjoy it. A computer programmer at work had found it for me.

I have a couple of other Yorkshire forums now, but losing that one was sad.

Trolls - horrible!

Baggy Sat 23-Jul-11 22:03:45

Thank you, elegran! I needed that guidance, as you know. wink

yogagran Sat 23-Jul-11 21:58:28

Trolls and moles, whatever next. Thanks Elegran we'll be more aware