Gransnet forums

TV, radio, film, Arts

Downton Abbey interrupted?

(19 Posts)
shysal Thu 16-Jul-20 07:55:29

Does anyone know what is happening to the screening of this? The ITV3 showing of the programmes right from the start have been great, thoroughly enjoyable. However, it doesn't feature in the TV magazine for that channel any more. The final series is coming to ITV1 on Sunday but the story doesn't seem to follow on. It mentions Mary's wedding arrangements when on ITV3 she has only just met her possible future husband.
Any idea what is going on?

lemongrove Thu 16-Jul-20 08:50:32

I don’t know Shysal but as a Downton devotee ?I need to look into this asap.?

Luckygirl Thu 16-Jul-20 08:53:04

At the start of lockdown I binge watched Downton on Netflix. It is splendidly acted - Maggie Smith at her best - I am sure the part was written with her in mind.

Beechnut Thu 16-Jul-20 08:58:44

I am a newbie to Downton. What went on between Mary and Edith or is it just a sibling thing?

MamaCaz Thu 16-Jul-20 08:59:39

OH and I have really enjoyed watching the re-run of Downton every weekday evening, and will be very disappointed if they don't complete the series that has been on this week!

I imagine we might be able to watch any missing episodes online, but it's not the same!

MamaCaz Thu 16-Jul-20 09:24:55

I see what you mean - ITV3's schedule for tonight is showing Agathe Christie's Poirot, not Downton !!! shock

Beechnut Thu 16-Jul-20 09:34:23

I think it’s back on itv3 next Thursday 23rd

shysal Thu 16-Jul-20 10:06:13

Oh yes, Beechnut, I didn't look that far ahead. That is good news! Thank you.

Calendargirl Thu 16-Jul-20 10:15:09

Beechnut

I will try and fill you in on the Mary and Edith scenario.

Basically, poor Edith has always been the ‘ugly duckling’ of the three sisters, whereas Mary has always been considered the beauty.

I have always found Mary to be snobbish, arrogant, very full of herself, and takes every opportunity to have a go at Edith.