Gransnet forums

Work/volunteering

What would you have done with your life if things had been different?

(88 Posts)
Bellesnan Thu 25-Aug-11 09:58:10

Don't know if this has come up before but thought it might be interesting to see what us grans might have done if we had had the chances/opportunities that kids today have. Or did you achieve your goal? I would have loved to study history and go on archaeological digs. I love all TV programmes about history and Time Team does it for me! Sadly too many aches and pains to do it now...

mgwnzy Fri 11-May-12 18:46:13

I was a bank manager for several years, but in my day-dreaming moments I always wanted to be a pantomime dame.

gillybob Thu 10-May-12 13:18:32

Don't know where to start with this one but I guess it would be easier to say what would I do the same and then the answer would be simple, nothing.

I don't know whether I am just feeling sorry for myself at the minute but have this sinking feeling that it is all just slipping by and I can't do anything about it. I had my children very young and let a potentially excellent career slip after getting pregnant, marrying a waste of space and having to take on a rubbish job to support us all. Finding myself a single parent and had to do whatever to make ends meet. I always thought having my kids young would mean that I would have time to myself as I got older but I couldn't be further wrong. Work full time in a stressful environment doing a job I hate, have elderly parents who need help, even more elderly granny, 3 grandchildren who I have 2 days a week including overnight (I adore them so wouldn't change this for the world). Can't remember when I last had a holiday 9or even a weekend break)as don't even bother to book them now as have had to cancel so many at the last minute I have lost count.

What can I do to change things?

Annika Thu 10-May-12 12:11:56