Home » Life & Style » Books

Kids' book of the month

The Dinosaur That Pooped A Planet - Tom Fletcher & Dougie Poynter

The Dinosaur That Pooped a PlanetFollowing the success of The Dinosaur That Pooped Christmas comes The Dinosaur That Pooped A Planet, the brand new out-of-this-world adventure of Danny and his pet Dinosaur. Written by McFly band members Tom Fletcher and Dougie Poynter and illustrated by Garry Parsons there's poop, planets and pandemonium in this supersonic space adventure!

The Dinosaur That Pooped Christmas was the bestselling children’s debut of 2012 and sold 70,000 copies through TCM last year. It won the Publishing Innovation Award for Best Ebook in the Children's category at the Digital Book World Conference 2012. Philip Stone at The Bookseller called it ‘a work of genius’. The Dinosaur has his own twitter account @PoopingDinosaur with over 25,000 followers and a dedicated facebook page.

Dougie Poynter is fascinated by reptiles, Tom Fletcher loves space - he attended Space Camp as a child, and they have a shared obsession with poop! After writing songs together for ten years in the band McFly, they wrote this book in the same way that they write their song lyrics.

Other things you might like...

Tom and Dougie comment "We absolutely love children's fiction and have a passion for writing. We constantly come up with ridiculous ideas and can't quite believe that this one is becoming a reality. We spend hours in book shops when we're on tour finding inspiration from all kinds of books but more often that not we find ourselves in the kids picture book section getting funny looks from parents and staff. We both know that as kids we would have loved this book and so we hope that when children and parents read it they laugh as much as we did when we wrote it."

Garry Parsons studied Fine Art at Brighton College and after that he went on to study Illustration. He has worked with a wide and substantial list of clients in both publishing and commercial illustration. His editorial illustrations appear regularly in magazines and newspapers in Britain and the USA including Vanity Fair, The Guardian and The Times. Billy's Bucket published by Random House (written by Kes Gray) won the 2004 Children's Book Award.

We're sorry, but all 50 copies of The Dinosaur That Pooped a Planet have now gone - you can still get a copy from Amazon. Fans of Tom and Dougie will also have a chance to meet them at the Children's Literature Festival in Bath in October - details here.

 

I feel I'm failing them - feeling lost

Is this a normal thing? - neighbour using wifi

Only telling GN pals - secret talent