Gransnet forums

AIBU

?Bikinis in the supermarket

(64 Posts)
dorsetpennt Thu 18-Jul-13 09:33:27

I work as an Internet shopper for one of our better supermarkets. I live in a coastal town with 'seven miles of golden sand', so with this hot weather the town is very busy. Our branch isn't on a coastline or opposite the beach, in fact we are in one of the suburbs. However, people, mainly holidaymakers, think it is quite suitable to shop in their bikinis, or men with their t-shirts off [not always a pleasant sight], even bare feet.
Yesterday a group of people came into the shop dressed like this, 2 girls in bare feet [ugh, our streets are clean but not sterile]. Our store manager approached them and asked in an extremely polite and reasonable manner to please cover up - we are food shop after all and other customers do not like it. Oh the fuss and the language - they stomped out shouting about how unreasonable we were etc, etc.
Was our manager being unreasonable? Do you wish to shop [or like me sit next to on a bus home] with nearly naked people - those bikinis were small!!

Deedaa Fri 19-Jul-13 20:22:15

I have to admit Bags that if he had been young and gorgeous I would probably not have minded at all blush Although it would still help if his jokes were funny!

granjura Fri 19-Jul-13 12:45:00

I'd say that the 'inappropriate' or 'disrespectful' wording and concept would change according to location. If in a seaside resort, I'd say 'inappropriate' and in traditional/rural area, where the locals dress very conservatively, I'd say 'disrespectful'. Context is so often the key.

simtib Fri 19-Jul-13 11:23:28

Now that would be giving away my secrets.

Ella46 Fri 19-Jul-13 11:16:58

simtib!! And....................what did you decide? smile

simtib Fri 19-Jul-13 10:49:26