Gransnet forums

AIBU

Low Boredom Threshold- too much energy

(53 Posts)
trueblue22 Sat 27-Jun-15 20:36:03

I'm 63 and been married to a lovely DH (67) for 33 years.

DH retired about 7 years ago and is happy to potter in the garden, watch sport, walk the dog and has a high boredom threshold.

I'm born industrious. I can't sit still for long and need to have a project on the go. Since retiring, I've been a volunteer editor for a local magazine, a health walk leader, an EBay lister for a charity and recently stood down as Association chairman of a political party, as well as standing as a local authority councillor candidate- although not in a winnable ward. I'm still a primary school governor, but that's the only commitment.

Now I'm at a loose end. It's nice to have a bit of time for DH- who has felt neglected -my baby grandson and bridge, but I feel I'm not ready for the interminable cruises, holidays, lunchtime gossiping with girlfriends, coach trips, U3A (usually for the over 70s) and the like. I'm young at heart and have bags of energy.

I'm filling in time going to boot sales & charity shops buying items and selling on EBay, but need to find something to do after the summer.

Any of you out there with a similar low boredom threshold? Any ideas?

abnerbenjamin Fri 31-Jul-15 21:19:51

Message deleted by Gransnet for breaking our forum guidelines. Replies may also be deleted.

TriciaF Mon 20-Jul-15 16:02:37

Trueblue - do you like music? If so one of the most satisfying things to take up after retirement is learning to play a musical instrument. Or join a choir. There's something about music which can transport you into another world.
I've got a piano, I had lessons as a child and have recently tried to practise and play more often. It takes a lot of self- discipline though.

fluttERBY123 Sun 19-Jul-15 22:39:15