Gransnet forums

AIBU

AIBU re my SIL?

(21 Posts)
Londonwifi Sat 15-Aug-20 22:31:12

My SIL does things for show. She will act nice and respectful in public and then speaks about people in a nasty way behind their backs. There’s a lot more besides. She is quite controlling as well. Too much to mention here.
However, she asked to be my FB friend a while back. Felt obliged to accept. She never posts a thing, not one thing, not even a comment or like on anyone’s posts. She obviously looks at peoples timelines in great detail though because she can spout off their interests, details of anything they’ve put on FB etc, what they are up to. I am a Home Economist and an Artist and as such I have a lot of friends on FB who are in similar occupations or have an interest in these subjects. Due to that we often post pics of what’s for our evening meal if it’s a new recipe etc. We are also keen gardeners and interested in nature . My DH and I moved to a new home recently and I posted a pic of the view from our bedroom window as it is glorious looking over the fields. My SIL’s husband made a catty remark about it insinuating that I was showing off and acting in a pretentious way when all I was doing was taking a record of a stunning view. I love it. My friends loved it and gave positive comments. She does this all the time. It does nothing to endear me to her or her husband. They have no decent conversation - they only want to tittle tattle. They have no hobbies or interests. Oh dear I am running off at the mouth, so to speak. She drives me up the wall!

Lolo81 Sat 15-Aug-20 22:40:03

You have my sympathy, and I completely understand the pressure one feels to keep the peace and accept the IL’s or extended family on social media. If you don’t want the can of worms that comes with unfriending her, I’m fairly sure that you can set your posts so that she cannot see them.

Starblaze Sat 15-Aug-20 22:46:12