Gransnet forums

Chat

Has becoming older changed you?

(45 Posts)
Eloethan Mon 22-Dec-14 00:53:38

I don't mean, of course, how you look or things like mobility.

I mean - do you react differently now to some things than you would have done when you were younger?

Other than my own children, I was never particularly interested in toddlers or young children. Now, I find them so adorable, funny and interesting.

Even with my own children, I found it difficult to play with them, whereas now I enjoy playing with my grandchildren. It makes me feel sad to think of what we both missed out on.

rosequartz Tue 24-Mar-15 15:08:34

This tab has a mind of its own!

rosequartz Tue 24-Mar-15 15:07:52

That's a good attitude, soon.

It is one I am still learning - and getting therem 7hope!

I have so much more confidence now than when I was young. I think I acquired more confidence when I had DC and learned to speak up for myself and them until they were old enough to do it for themselves.

soontobe Tue 24-Mar-15 11:42:42

If someone told me off, or spoke unnecessarily harshly, it would bother me for a while.

Now, I just think that it is the other person's problem, and move on.

whitewave Tue 24-Mar-15 11:12:07

I have far more confidence than I ever had when younger. anno I also agree with you but I do so enjoy a good mental work out and debate.

I worry less about some things but given my age I also think the worse if something seems medically wrong.
On the whole I haven't minded being any age really it is just that time is whizzing past and I have less left and given that I enjoy life that is annoying.

gillybob Tue 24-Mar-15 10:31:25

Although Being older has certainly changed me I woukd not say it was for the better. I remember (way back) being funny, witty, a bit silly and generally happy. These days I have more worries than I ever had and less freedom than ever had when I was younger. So to sum it up so far, I would say being older sucks!