Gransnet forums

Chat

So what's wrong with speed cameras raising revenue?

(17 Posts)
NanaMacGeek Wed 02-Sep-15 00:11:49

I recently drove a 300 miles round trip across country, hardly using any motorways. I found I was increasingly confused by speed limits. 40 Mph followed by 20 mph, followed by 30, then National speed limit, then to 50 then 30 and so on.

Where, as an experienced driver, I would have expected a 30 or even 20 mph speed limit, there was none but, on a dry, clear day with wide verges and no houses in sight, 40mph was indicated on a dual carriageway. However, to drive along the same stretch of dual carriageway on an icy, foggy night at 40 would have been madness. Yes, I understand that I am not obliged to drive at the speed limit and should exercise judgement to drive to suit the road conditions but, with so many varying limits, it may be simpler to suspend judgement and use the speed limits as a guide. During my drive, I found that my concern about keeping within sometimes uncertain speed limits was a real distraction.

By all means slow down traffic in areas of high population but please can we have consistent and reasonable limits. Personally, I'd like to see smarter limits for times when the weather is bad, when schools are out, when there is an unexpected hazard and so on. I hope technology in the future will help.

Nandalot Tue 01-Sep-15 09:38:03

We live in Lincolnshire, which for its population has a high proportion of road deaths and casualties. Quite a few years ago, there was a major drive towards safer roads, the main thrust being speed restrictions and cameras. From over a hundred deaths a year, that total has halved.
So hurray for the cameras.

As well as the distress of human loss, fewer accidents must surely save money as well. Less emergency response times, less hospital costs.

How often has someone overtaken you when you have been dutifully obeying the speed limit for you to pull up behind them at the next junction, traffic light?