Gransnet forums

Chat

Hand arthritis

(18 Posts)
storynanny Tue 16-Feb-16 19:42:22

Might have a chat with my doctor next time I go for my knee arthritis check up - occupational hazard from spending years and years on the floor with infants!

storynanny Tue 16-Feb-16 19:41:13

Will a, yes I have seen that aid, will certainly bear it in mind if the pain becomes to severe to continue.
I've decided to buy one pair of the square needles and have a go. Also am going to teach myself the continental way as I definitely find crochet less painful.
Ironically I am left handed but it is my right hand which has been overworked. Also I have been a pianist since I started knitting about age 7 so my fingers have certainly been overworked! I don't really play anymore as I mainly was "the school pianist", now I have semi retired with no piano at home any more my playing days are much diminished.

Nelliemoser Tue 16-Feb-16 15:24:26

wilmaI think holding needles too tight along with tensing my arm muscels while gardening has caused my RSI type symptoms.
I found stretching exercises very good. You really should leave off knitting as long as possible if you get these problems.

WilmaKnickersfit Tue 16-Feb-16 02:13:23

storynanny have you heard of the Knitting Aid? It was designed several years ago by a young man called David for his grandma to help her with her knitting. She's got arthritis in her hands and they're quite deformed. I think it's quite expensive (about £70), but it has won awards.

I didn't know what Continental style knitting was, so I looked on YouTube and found lots of tutorials. There's also quite a few videos on exercises and stretches to help with relieving pain from knitting and crocheting. Might be worth a look.

My GP told me to use Ibuprofen gel for my hands. I don't knit, but I do make jewellery and I think it could have caused my arthritis. Apparently it's holding things too tightly that's the problem.

Eloethan Tue 16-Feb-16 01:10:54