Gransnet forums

Chat

A simple act of kindness -and paying it forward.

(42 Posts)
Imperfect27 Tue 12-Sep-17 07:10:35

Decades ago I worked as a bank cashier. I enjoyed the customer facing aspect of the ole and was aware that some customers would choose to come to my till for a bit of chatter. One such was an elderly gentleman who I later learned was a French Consulate. When I married, he surprised me by bringing in a gift, handed over in an old crinkled brown paper bag. It contained a delicate bone china rose vase. I was so touched by the kindness from someone relatively unknown to me.

Since then, for some weddings, I have enjoyed giving an unexpected gift, usually a small silver photo frame or something of that ilk for the home. And I always think of that first act of unexpected kindness and the pleasure it brought to me.

Has a simple act of kindness inspired you to do something?

Imperfect27 Wed 20-Sep-17 13:34:06