Gransnet forums

Chat

Litter . Keep Britain Tidy ?

(87 Posts)
MissTree Wed 03-Jun-20 11:49:24

When we visited Japan we were struck by how free of litter it was at least wherever we went. I asked a guide and she said the first thing the little children learn at school is how to clean their tables and classrooms.
I know teachers are expected to do practically everything these days. ‘Twas ever thus. My father was head of a primary school and I remember him telling us he used to wash one little girl’s hair regularly because she had nits. Heaven knows what would happen if they did that today .

What can we do about the awful mess visitors leave behind at beauty spots ?
At grammar school we had a litter picking rota. Should we bring back Keep Britain Tidy ?

Sawsage2 Fri 05-Jun-20 01:25:43

'Daisyboots'. Did you know head lice can cause anaemia in children and adults. It's horrible. I've seen it when working in GPs surgery.

newnanny Fri 05-Jun-20 00:01:43

I am an early retired teacher and we gave litter picking duties instead of detentions. Very clean school grin

tidyskatemum Thu 04-Jun-20 23:11:35

A lot of you don’t seem to realise that Keep Britain Tidy never went away. Having been started by the Women’s Institute in the 1950’s it’s a registered charity, always been a bit white and middle class but has always tried hard with campaigning and work with local authorities, schools, other NGO’s and companies, with precious little support from government. And yes, I worked for KBT for 20 years, during which time the wheel was regularly reinvented but there were some major successes eg getting people to pick up dog poo, improving beaches and water quality but never managing to alter the yobbish British mindset of “I don’t care. Someone gets paid to pick up my c#@p.”

Daisyboots Thu 04-Jun-20 22:51:49