Gransnet forums

Chat

Are you irritated by bicycles on the road?

(40 Posts)
Bazza Wed 29-Jul-20 11:01:14

I live in area where there are many bicycles on our quite narrow roads. Before all you cyclists let me know that they are kind to the environment, good exercise etc., yes, I absolutely agree. I would just like to know why, when there is a cycle lane, a lot refuse to use them. Why do they insist on cycling sometimes as much as four abreast? They frighten the life out of me when overtaking them. Is it just me?

LadyGracie Thu 24-Sep-20 11:39:47

I’m a cyclist and a driver and cyclists annoy me intensely.

I feel guilty however if I’m cycling down a cycle/walking trail and walkers move out of the way, I always apologise. But, I’ll happily move if I’m walking and a cyclist comes.

Granarchist Thu 24-Sep-20 11:32:04

I am happy with two abreast as then they present the same width as a vehicle which makes it less tempting for idiot drivers to overtake when there is a vehicle approaching from ahead. It also stops cars overtaking on blind corners. Three or four abreast, or riding in huge groups without leaving regular spaces for cars to overtake are just plain rude. I drive and ride bikes and wear lots of hi viz - none of that stopped a 40ton grain lorry overtaking me, (I could have touched the side of his vehicle) with a car coming the other way - when he cut in to avoid the car I truly thought I was going to die. Worse still was the fact that a mere 100yds ahead he turned off into a grain store - so there was no need to endanger my life. I was so angry I rode straight into the yard and just went ballistic. No real apology - the manager just said he was sure the driver was not intentionally trying to kill me!!!!

eazybee Thu 24-Sep-20 08:04:15

In answer to the question: Yes.