Gransnet forums

Chat

Silver line - any experience?

(18 Posts)
FannyCornforth Mon 28-Sep-20 16:44:52

Hello all
Does anyone have any experience of
Esther Rantzen's Silver line?
I'm a teacher currently on long time sick leave.
I'm feeling a bit useless at the moment and am thinking of volunteering opportunities.
I'm housebound, so it needs to be telephone based.
Any thoughts welcome.
Thank you x

silverlining48 Mon 28-Sep-20 17:09:14

I don’t have personal experience of silverline but would think it is good idea especially in these times of social isolation. You can only give it a try.
Ps I was on long term sickness too so understand how you might be feeling. Good luck.

Riverwalk Mon 28-Sep-20 17:25:45

Could you not do on-line teaching? I would have thought that would be very much needed.

The government promised catch-up summer schools which didn't materialise so I'm sure there are many children in need.

Riverwalk Mon 28-Sep-20 17:27:53

Sorry meant to say, not that older people don't need your help but right now I think children are getting a very raw deal.

Chewbacca Mon 28-Sep-20 17:29:42

One of my friends volunteers as a "befriender" with them. She has 2 people that she maintains distance friendships with. One, who is profoundly deaf and so cannot phone, she writes to once a month and the other she phones twice a month, usually a Sunday evening. She said that it's quite difficult to think of things to write about because subject matter mustn't be political, religious or on any personal level. So that just leaves the garden and the weather! And as they don't write back, she has no way of knowing if they're interested in what she writes about or not.

FannyCornforth Mon 28-Sep-20 17:32:39

Unfortunately my school has said that I am unable to work from home.
I work for a multi academy trust.
I'm primary trained, but work in secondary with SEN children.
They are in denial that some kids need to work from home.
The whole thing is a mess.