Gransnet forums

Chat

Guitar

(21 Posts)
Caleo Fri 26-Nov-21 12:03:29

I was reared on the keyboard but my sons were left to their own devices musically. They are self taught guitar players. The latter is a much more difficult instrument . String length and thickness same as for the piano is the principle that underlies pitch and octave.

The difficulty with a guitar compared with piano keyboard is the latter has octaves all laid out to hand, whereas with a guitar you have to know how to select your octave.

JackyB Fri 26-Nov-21 09:24:34

Well, Grannyrebel has had a year to practise. I wonder how she's getting on.

huntingbinoculars Fri 26-Nov-21 04:16:00

Message deleted by Gransnet. Here's a link to our Talk guidelines.

Maywalk Wed 03-Nov-21 17:47:08

It used to be the spoons, mouth organ, jaws/jews harp and washboards in my young days. LOL

My son used to be lead guitar player in his group and has had to admit its not done much for his hand over the years.
He is 71 now.

Greyduster Mon 01-Nov-21 12:13:40

To borrow some lines from Flanders and Swann, appropriately altered:
“I once had a whim and I had to obey it
To buy a Guitar in a second-hand shop……”. I did just that in my early twenties and set about learning to play it. I am a competent pianist and can span more than an octave, but I couldn’t manage some of the chords on the guitar. It sounded nothing but awful so I gave up, but years later, one of my stepgrandsons had a ukulele and he taught me to strum it. Wonderful instrument! Very user friendly. I’d think seriously about that instead of a guitar.

crazyH Fri 29-Oct-21 17:32:56

Grannyrebel, you did make me chuckle when you said you were ‘tone deaf’ and that you were asked to ‘mime’…….there’s not much hope for you with the guitar then, is there? ?Just joking - I’m in that sort of mood today ……

MissAdventure Fri 29-Oct-21 17:27:21

Reported.

Betterbunny Fri 29-Oct-21 17:25:41

Message deleted by Gransnet. Here's a link to our Talk guidelines.