Gransnet forums

Chat

Anyone else?

(23 Posts)
MerylStreep Tue 09-Mar-21 16:43:36

I always have good intentions of a lazy day but I find it impossible. I’ve always had lots of energy and I’m blessed with good health.

Nonogran Tue 09-Mar-21 16:36:16

Hello Old woman 70! I'm in your club! I love my lazy mornings & have been quite happy in lockdown. I watch news, drink tea, eat brekky in slow time. I'm often not dressed until 10.30! However, this morning I was up at day break to open up at 0800 for a gardener who need to prep the space for my new shed! Nearly killed me!
I longed for lazy mornings when I was working and love every minute of retirement.

Jaxjacky Tue 09-Mar-21 16:10:15

If DH is working, as he has yesterday and today, up at 6:45, I’m not good at having a lie in. Although I’m up, I’m not ‘with it’ for a good hour, I get dressed straight out of bed, teeth etc. Then, it depends on the day, quite busy yesterday, today I cleaned the oven and fridge, nipped to the village shop, went for a walk and tidied the garden a bit before the weather kicks in tonight. I bath or shower during the day somewhen, I’m definitely more active than I was a few weeks ago, the allotments calls, so more to do. I’m getting blackout curtains sorted for our room, last summer I had an eye masks to sleep in, as soon as the sun hits our room, I’m awake.

AGAA4 Tue 09-Mar-21 16:08:01

I always wake at 7am these days. I wish I could sleep a bit longer but I am wide awake. Make up for it by mooching about in my dressing gown till around 8.30 then shower, dress and off out for a walk.
The rest of the day slips by with housework, reading, an hour of puzzles and some phone calls and texting.
The days go over very quickly. How did I ever find time to work?

Jane43 Tue 09-Mar-21 15:52:23