Gransnet forums

Food

Gluten Free Cakes

(9 Posts)
TerriBull Sat 16-Apr-16 14:42:24

I'm pleased with myself I have managed to make a birthday cake for my grandson who is a celiac and is also allergic to dairy. The proof of the pudding will be whether any of us, especially him, will like this cake as it has yet to be cut and tasted. The main purpose of it is to put 2 candles on it and hope that he blows them out. I have never used gluten free flour before but it has risen and does look like a regular cake so that's something smile

I feel sorry for my grandson because he can't have many of the treats his sister enjoys, although I don't think he is aware he is missing anything at the moment and enjoys all the meals I cook for him when he is with us, but I am a bit challenged as far as deserts are concerned. The gluten free, dairy free options available in supermarkets don't look great. My son did manage to find a gluten free and dairy free Easter egg for him but he didn't seem to like that much.

Does anyone out there have any experience in making cakes or deserts for a gluten and dairy intolerant child?

whitewave Sat 16-Apr-16 14:44:33

Packed full of sugar so he won't miss much in fact his diet will probably be a lot healthier.

TerriBull Sat 16-Apr-16 14:50:17

Yes I suppose given the controversy raging about the sugar content in many products that is of course true whitewave.

whitewave Sat 16-Apr-16 15:10:12

His dear little teeth will thank you!

kittylester Sat 16-Apr-16 15:41:42

Try the Cake Angels cook book or there is website (and book, I think!) called something like The intolerant gourmet. Delia's cakes work well with gf flour but I've never tried them with non dairy 'fats'. The Schar range of biscuits are good as are prewitts as far as gf goes but I've no idea how they are Re dairy.

TerriBull Sat 16-Apr-16 15:58:53