Gransnet forums

Food

Coffee

(24 Posts)
MawBroon Mon 23-Apr-18 11:01:50

Could somebody with a scientific bent, please explain why coffee with cold milk tastes so different from coffee made with hot?
The former is Eurgh IMO but I feel I am sounding precious if I ask for hot milk in a restaurant.

Scribbles Mon 23-Apr-18 11:05:36

I'm not a scientist and can't answer the question, Maw but, as I sit here with a glorious mug of Taylors' Italian to hand, I couldn't help reflecting that your sentiments about milk are the exact opposite of mine. Hot milk? Nooooooooo!

Panache Mon 23-Apr-18 11:06:44

A learning curve for me indeed as quite frankly......and excuse my ignorance!........but I did not even know it possible to make and drink coffee made with cold milk!
As a great lover of coffee,the percolated kind.............I love it piping hot,whilst mainly black.
If with milk............. it is -hot- milk always
I am sure you will find someone reply with the necessary knowledge,but for now,cheers and drink up Maw!

sunseeker Mon 23-Apr-18 11:07:36

As long as the caffeine content is high I really don't mind! Yesterday we had a power cut from 10.00 a.m. until 8.00 p.m. and I was without coffee ALL DAY - not a pretty sight!

MawBroon Mon 23-Apr-18 11:26:25

Oh poor sunseeker you must have been desperate!

Just to add to my general pickiness, I also detect a difference in flavour in the coffee between milk heated for 20 seconds in the microwave and milk heated in my milk “frother” (and prefer the latter)
☕️

GrandmaMoira Mon 23-Apr-18 11:39:08

I think frothy milk tastes completely different to ordinary milk and I don't like it. I can't taste the difference between hot and cold milk in coffee though always have cold myself, otherwise you have to wait for it to cool before you can drink it. I hate milky coffee like cappuchino and latte.
I'd rather have tea anyway!

Greyduster Mon 23-Apr-18 12:22:33