Gransnet forums

Food

Im new to Lidl and Aldi at Christmas .

(142 Posts)
gmelon Tue 06-Nov-18 21:29:56

I wonder if you will share your tastiest and favourite buys from Christmas at Lidl and Aldi.

I've never lived near one.
This year they've built a massive Aldi and I'm near a Lidl too.

I'm aware there was a bit of a thread going a while ago with some content but this one is completely dedicated to the lovely tasty subject.

Chewbacca Wed 14-Nov-18 22:28:41

Oooh, thanks for the heads up Maw, ive seen their candles and diffusers and wondered if they were ok. They've got a large selection of Christmas scented ones in too at the moment. Time for another visit.

annsixty Wed 14-Nov-18 20:57:19

I can't usually do a big shop now at Aldi and get a delivery from Sainsbury's weekly but when out last Thursday with a friend, we called in to use the cash machine and
I grabbed their Gold Roast instant coffee granules.
I noticed a small piece of lamb, described as butterflied leg, it was small but only £4,.99.
I cooked it tonight and it was delicious, just enough for the two of us, but we are not big meat eaters, may be sparse for big appetites.

Brunette10 Wed 14-Nov-18 20:09:48

Good to know Maw, normally use M and S but will try Aldi ones tomorrow. Thanks

MawBroon Wed 14-Nov-18 19:53:41

Aldi room fragrance diffusers are identical to Jo Malone - No 1 is Lime, Basil and Mandarine, No 3 is Pomegranate Noir and at £3.99 each, about a tenth of the Jo Malone price!
Two wick scented candles likewise.

Deedaa Wed 14-Nov-18 19:42:14

DD and I always use Aldi dishwasher tablets. All the Christmas stuff is good, but sadly they seem to have stopped the panforte which was half the price of Waitrose.

KatyK Wed 14-Nov-18 12:32:29

I've had fitted cotton sheets (double) from Aldi, £4.99 and pillow cases £1.99 a pair. They are great. Just been up to look for more today but they hadn't got them.

Purpledaffodil Tue 13-Nov-18 18:59:55