Gransnet forums

Food

Sinking cherries

(36 Posts)
ecci53 Thu 09-May-19 20:20:00

DH and I follow a low fat eating regime. I've been making low fat or no fat cakes for a couple of years now, no problems. I've recently devised a recipe for cherry and almond loaf, which tastes delicious but the cherries sink to the bottom. I've tried making it twice, first time I used whole glacé cherries. Today I halved the cherries and made the mixture a bit stiffer but the cherries have all ended up in the bottom again. Any advice? Thanks.

lemongrove Sun 12-May-19 09:07:07

Cherries are too heavy for your light mixture OP, even I suspect, when halved and rolled in flour.
Do as Lupin and others advise, and have a cherry upside down cake ? sounds delicious, I want some right now.

granfromafar Sun 12-May-19 08:36:49

Have always kept an almost empty bag of flour just for this purpose. Only needs about a dessert spoonful of flour in the bottom. My 'go-to'cake is banana and cherry and I always wash off syrup, dry on kitchen towel then roughly chop the fruit. Thankfully read this tip years ago and followed it ever since.

absent Sun 12-May-19 05:56:57

Tossing fruit – whether glacé cherries or sultanas, raisins, currants, dried cranberries and so in – in flour is fairly standard for ensuring that they don't sink to the bottom of your cake or pudding.

Cindersdad Sun 12-May-19 05:48:55

Put the flour, cherries and dried fruit in a tub with a secure lid. Shake thoroughly and coating is a by-lateral consequence. Cutting cherries in half can help. Sieve the flour out into the mix as normal, stir in the fruit last thing.

lovebeigecardigans1955 Sat 11-May-19 18:17:27

I always put a bit of the cake mix in the tin - then add the cherries to the rest of the mix so that they've got 'somewhere to go' as it were.