Gransnet forums

Food

Beef and celeriac

(19 Posts)
Marthjolly1 Sun 20-Dec-20 00:02:13

We absolute love celeriac. Yes it's a bit difficult to peel and cut, much the same as swede. But I cook the same as mashed potatoes and often serve as an alternative

dogsmother Sat 19-Dec-20 23:48:55

I love it in coleslaw!

Fennel Sat 19-Dec-20 18:00:52

I might try it then - my friend says it's good in soups.

Riverwalk Sat 19-Dec-20 12:18:08

Fennel

Even though I'm an adventurous cook I've never tried celeriac.
Just don't like the look of it - is it hard to peel and chop?
My usual beef stew includes lots of butter beans, presoaked. Plus tinned baked beans in tomato sauce.
I've got other recipes with dried fruit - prunes, apricots etc.
And beer.

Celeriac looks a bit difficult Fennel but it really isn't and is worth it!

With a large sharp knife top & tail so you have a firm base - the bottom can be rooty and gnarly. Then with a good vegetable knife cut down the skin from top to bottom, and work your way around, rather like if you were tackling a pineapple.

Then cut into 1" or so dice and roast with a splash of olive oil, just like potatoes - really delicious

I roasted one yesterday and this portion was left over and I'll have with lunch - just reheat in the microwave.

polyester57 Sat 19-Dec-20 11:54:37

Always on the lookout for new recipes, I made this last weekend. It was delicious! I live in Central Europe and we use celeriac a lot. It´s not to everyone´s taste, but absolutely perfect in this dish. I suppose you could forgo the celeriac and/or the horseradish if you really object, but it will just make it another beef stew then.

Willow73 Fri 18-Dec-20 12:43:41

my husband hates horseradish, can this stew be made without it or is there any suggestions of replacement ingredients?

DavidFresko Fri 18-Dec-20 12:27:36

Maybe you can find some simple recipes here recipes.cafe/en .

Fennel Wed 09-Dec-20 16:41:24

ps Some ideas for roast vegetables - no mention of celeriac!