Gransnet forums

Food

Is there such a thing as delicious ready meals?

(41 Posts)
ferry23 Thu 28-Mar-24 19:02:13

I'm a more than adequate cook - I don't mind blowing my own trumpet here because there's not much I'm good at!

Although I still have good intentions, the passing of time means that as dinner time approaches I'm often finding I can't really be bothered to start cooking a full blown meal (I'm on my own). I've tried eating my main meal at lunch time - yes I know it's better for you - but after a lifetime of the evening meal being the main meal of the day I can't break the habit.

I've given up on supermarket ready meals, with a few Waitrose or M&S exceptions but not many. I've tried "Cook" and they're probably the best of a bad bunch but regularly "out of stock" of the ones I fancy. I don't want to go down the Hello Fresh type meals as they still need to be cooked - some evenings I just want to throw something in the oven (or even the microwave. I never thought I'd say that!). Wiltshire and similar are not what I'm looking for. I'm happy to pay a bit of a premium for a decent meal but I do live on just the State Pension so I can't really run to 8 or 9 pounds for a single serving. I've googled until I'm goggled - just wondered what others experiences have been with non-supermarket ready meals?

aggie Thu 28-Mar-24 19:12:36

The only ones I liked were from an independent supermarket , the meals could have been home cooked from the taste of them
This is not just one place , but most independent supermarkets
I have frozen some , but been careful to make sure they were well thawed before heating ,
Actually the best idea is to take time , once in a while , to batch cook and freeze your own meals

Jaxjacky Thu 28-Mar-24 19:18:24

Charlie Bigam apparently, I’ve not bought any but lots of people rave about them p, they’ll cost you though, so may not fit your budget.

ferry23 Thu 28-Mar-24 19:20:10