Gransnet forums

Health

Frustration when op is postponed

(18 Posts)
mcem Fri 24-Oct-14 22:48:31

Dd1 has spent nearly 4 weeks in hospital for treatment and tests. Finally it was decided that her digestive system has almost ceased to operate and the only solution is a fairly big op and an ileostomy, which means a stoma bag.
She has accepted the inevitable and for the last few days has been psyching herself up for it. Today the due time came and went but eventually she was told they couldn't go ahead as emergencies had, of course, taken precedence.
I understand why this had happened but it it soooooo frustrating!
With luck, the op should be carried out tomorrow.
Another 3 weeks before she gets home so we'll get on with caring for 2 slightly confused but wonderfully resistant little people and will fit in hospital visits when we can.
I'd be grateful to hear of positive experiences of this op and coping with the aftermath.

ninathenana Fri 24-Oct-14 23:07:27

I have no experience of the actual operation. I just wanted to say I totally understand yours and her frustration. A friend has just had her planned op cancelled on the morning she was to be admitted.
I hope your DD doesn't have to wait long and that the surgery goes well and she has a speedy recovery. flowers

mcem Sat 25-Oct-14 06:54:13

Thanks nina. I know that noone is to blame for these situations and emergencies crop up but it's no less frustrating! I sincerely hope we can get on with it today.
Btw, my dear grandchildren are resilient not resistant!

Kiora Sat 25-Oct-14 07:32:17

What a worry. I hope someone can give you some positive tips and that there is a good outcome for your daughter and she is up and about soon. flowers

hildajenniJ Sat 25-Oct-14 08:00:55