Gransnet forums

Health

Flu to hospital

(126 Posts)
Baggs Fri 05-Jan-18 06:00:40

I have no experience of flu.

Several news items have left me wondering why people with flu* go to hospital. I can understand very old people who have no one to help look after them when they are too ill with flu to be able to eat and drink and go to the loo needing to be in hospital. Do they account for all the winter surge that seems to be packing hospitals at the moment?

* In one thing I read hospitals were asking people with the symptoms of colds or flu not to visit relatives or friends in hospitals because they might spread their infections to people whose immune systems were already working overtime.

* My mum has had flu several times. She always said that if you are walking about fairly normally it's not flu however grotty you feel.

OldMeg Mon 08-Jan-18 22:41:08

Baggs that doesn’t surprise me, about resistance from doctors. I knew several pharmacists who don’t have the vaccine too.

OldMeg Mon 08-Jan-18 22:37:15

Look I’m just trying to put the other point of view Jess and if that sounded like I was trying to pick a fight then that was not my intention.

However if I sounded like a pompous prat then I’ll apologise because I can see I’m not going to make any impression on your firmly held beliefs.

Baggs Mon 08-Jan-18 21:29:30

If one's risk is very low then cutting it in half isn't worth bothering about imo. If one works with high risk people it's probably worth having a flu jab to help cut their risk.

Something I read today though was claiming that only about half of health workers have had this winter's jab and "unions are likely to be wary of compulsory vaccinations, although health chiefs are expecting more resistance from doctors than from nurses".

Baggs Mon 08-Jan-18 16:41:05

Is 200 really a big enough sample to show anything?

JessM Mon 08-Jan-18 15:48:11