Gransnet forums

Health

Laser eye treatments

(18 Posts)
gransruleok Mon 06-Aug-18 14:03:18

Have any of you had experience of laser treatments that mean you no longer need your specs? I’ve seen many ads lately and think how lovely it must be to be able to see without the hassle of glasses.

MiniMoon Mon 06-Aug-18 14:29:48

I've just been for an eye test, and asked that question. The Optician I saw said I'd still need reading glasses, so I have gone off the idea of laser eye surgery.?

CassieJ Mon 06-Aug-18 15:06:46

My DIL had laser eye surgery about 10 years ago and hasn't needed glasses since. It made a huge difference for her.
Go for a reputable one and check recommendations and reviews.

Liz46 Mon 06-Aug-18 15:30:58

I'm not an expert on this but having had my cataracts done recently, they need to know if you have had laser treatment. I think that, if you have, it makes the cataract treatment more difficult.

GillT57 Mon 06-Aug-18 15:33:10

Interesting question. I have been considering this. Quite happy with my glasses most of the time but doing things like swimming or aquaerobics and trying to see the instructor gets a bit tricky.

BlueBelle Mon 06-Aug-18 15:35:56

My son had laser treatment ent for shortsitedn Ed’s 20 years ago and is still going strong 20/20 vision I d have it tomorrow but eyes are too damaged from torn retinas cataracts and off the scale short sight etc etc to consider it I m led to believe so just preserve what I ve got

BlueBelle Mon 06-Aug-18 15:36:53

Where did Ed come into it ? Stupid predictive text always thnkd it knows better

Marian1412 Mon 06-Aug-18 18:06:05

I’ve had lens replacement surgery to both eyes. I think I’m correct in thinking that Laser Surgery is not suitable for over 55s as your eye muscles do not react quickly enough.

mcem Mon 06-Aug-18 18:53:00

My DD had successful laser surgery at 30. 12 years later she needs reading glasses.