Gransnet forums

Health

tingly acidic taste in mouth

(19 Posts)
MamieJoy Thu 13-Jun-19 16:32:53

Has anyone here experienced a tingly acidic taste in the mouth? I've read that it can be related to stress, anxiety etc which would fit the bill with recent events in my life. It came all of a sudden and I hope it will go the same way but how long is it going to last? It is most unpleasant and can it be caused by anything else and how do I get rid of it?

Oldandverygrey Thu 13-Jun-19 17:32:42

Mamie, I had symptoms similar to yours, turned out I had a hiatus hernia. Book an appointment with your GP, he will set you right.

3dognight Thu 13-Jun-19 18:14:49

Strangely, this was a symptom of me being pregnant !

But I do get it as well if I'm on antibiotics .

While you wait for a doctors appointment you could try yakult, and / or Rennies ?

Just my thoughts I'm not a doctor. Hope it's sorted soon.

Curlywhirly Thu 13-Jun-19 18:22:50

I get this when stressed - in my case, it's related to acid reflux. I take gaviscon or something similar. If your case is similar, and it continues, go to the doctors, they may prescribe lansoprazole or omeprazole which reduces stomach acid. Once you have less stress, the problem should get better and you can then reduce the medication. Worked for me.

GabriellaG54 Thu 13-Jun-19 19:12:35

Acid reflux can also be a symptom of Pancreatic cancer which doesn't always display early symptoms.
Ask doc for full blood tests.

Gonegirl Thu 13-Jun-19 20:30:26

My acid reflux came on suddenly. Out of the blue. Had it for years now.

Funnily enough for this last week or so it's been a lot better.

giulia Thu 13-Jun-19 20:53:35

I was diagnosed hiatus hernia years back and, I do get a very sour mouth, especially at night which I chase awaya with sips of water.

However, I managed to beat the acid reflux that is so unpleasant by eating earlier in the evening - Always finished before seven p.m.

MamieJoy Fri 14-Jun-19 12:35:26