Gransnet forums

Health

Domestic violence prisoner.

(25 Posts)
Ohmother Sat 28-Mar-20 10:40:34

What advice can be given to a friend (and it is a friend; not me) that is in lockdown with two children; 16 and an 18 month old. Her husband is very controlling and verbally abusive. He is unwilling to help her with childminding while she is under pressure to keep her job by working from home. This is not new behaviour but is getting worse even before lockdown. She is managing to talk over the garden fence as he checks her messages on her phone.

Galaxy Sat 28-Mar-20 11:47:20

Can she speak to Womans Aid? I would say she needs professional advice in this situation.

Franbern Sat 28-Mar-20 11:49:01

Ohmother - I am no expert, but I did mention this to one of my children who has professional knowledge. Cohersive and controlling behavior is illegal. Even in these times, action can and will taken by the police if she is willing to report it. She does have to think about what she is willing to do. If she reports it to the police, they could actually remove him. This is a difficult situation for her.
Whatever, she needs to log down everything he is doing in this, and if she can report it - even if she asks that no action be taken at present, at least those reports will be there for the future.
Wish I could be more helpful - it is a horrible situation

kittylester Sat 28-Mar-20 12:05:37

I have this problem to worry about but a niece. They have businesses together too. It's a huge worry to us - but not her own father!!

sodapop Sat 28-Mar-20 12:32:03

I think you have to wait until she is ready ohmother what an awful situation to be in with two young children. In the meantime perhaps you could find out what help is available to her in your area with phone numbers, e-mail addresses etc.
It must be a comfort to her knowing you are there to listen.

eazybee Sat 28-Mar-20 12:50:33