Gransnet forums

Health

Chemotherapy

(20 Posts)
NannaLyn Wed 07-Oct-20 21:18:04

Aggy21

I've sent you a PM.

Georgesgran Tue 06-Oct-20 01:59:01

My DH was diagnosed with Stage 4 on Christmas Eve 2015 and given 3 months to live. It was an incorrect diagnosis and he started RCHOP chemo in February 16. At 65 he was extremely fit and that’s been a lifesaver. Since then he’s had a further 4 courses of chemo and 3 serious bouts of Sepsis when he almost died and other issues too. Immune system plummets, but other than losing his hair, some sickness and now permanent peripheral neuropathy-he didn’t have the usual side effects suffered by others.

As others say - everyone is different. He continues to confuse his Consultants as his cancer seems to be ‘unique’.
More treatment again tomorrow.

I wish you and your DH all the best in what lies ahead. XX

Stret Sun 04-Oct-20 15:42:26

Hello Aggy21
I am brand new to this & was looking for another topic
I had Chemo & radiotherapy 2 years ago
I had hair loss right after 1st Chemo
I found muscle wastage right away & lost all strength & weight.
I needed a lot of sleep after Chemo infact it came on immediately & no one could wake me for 4 days
Everyone treatment & patient is different
My main concern was mouth care l had a lot of thrush so keep an eye out.
There were many happy times during treatment. These days were filled with laughter
Wishing you both very well

Sar53 Sun 04-Oct-20 15:34:12

My husband had six months of chemo 2015/2016. He lost body hair and the hair on his head did not grow in that time. He was very lucky in having private healthcare through his job, so had all his treatment in a private hospital. He had masses of anti sickness medication and seemed to get through the treatment very well.
Everyone is different and chemo will affect them in different ways. I wish you and your husband well. It's not easy watching someone you love going through the treatment xx

Oldbat1 Sun 04-Oct-20 15:19:39