Gransnet forums

Health

Basal Cell Carcinoma

(8 Posts)
annodomini Sun 28-Nov-21 18:25:24

The dermatologist who diagnosed two BCCs on my face referred me to a plastic surgeon to have them removed. The referral has come through for December 7th, but nobody has told me what to expect. I know there will be local anaesthesia and that small grafts will be applied to the removal sites. Where does the skin for the grafts come from? As I've plenty of experience with dental anaesthetics, I don't expect to find the procedure painful, but should I expect to feel at all woozy afterwards and will I feel like driving myself home - only about 7 miles?
I would be so grateful if someone here who has had the same treatment would tell me about her experience.

NorthowramGran Sun 28-Nov-21 18:40:02

My DH had a large BCC removed from his forehead in September last year. He had a local anaesthetic and the graft was taken from his lower neck, just above the collarbone. He was in the hospital less than 2 hours. Once the anaesthetic wore off he took cocodamol for the discomfort but only needed them for a couple of days. He says the skin graft site was more painful than the BCC. But then again he’s a man with a low pain threshold!

grannyactivist Sun 28-Nov-21 19:26:46

The hospital probably won’t allow you to drive yourself home anno. I felt absolutely fine afterwards and no real pain to speak of. The one on my face healed wonderfully and can’t be seen.

PamelaJ1 Sun 28-Nov-21 20:01:34

It’s a bit scary isn’t it. I hadn’t realised how fond I was of my nose until I thought I may have lose a chunk.
Luckily I look like I have a dimple on the tip and I didn’t need a graft. He said -“next time”? but it seems OK at the moment.
The surgeon will have to use quite a lot of local anaesthetic and that may make you a bit wobbly. I was fine after mine but still glad DH was there to drive me home.

Good luck.

Franbern Mon 29-Nov-21 08:56:03