Gransnet forums

News & politics

Childrens communication skills

(86 Posts)
Jane10 Tue 31-Jul-18 12:13:02

Just read that a lot of children arrive at school with poor communication skills. Somehow it's to be a government responsibility to address this issue. Really? Is it? Do parents and families not talk to their children any more? What's changed?
Parents on social media ignoring wee ones clamouring to chat? That's certainly my experience from watching parents these days. Humph. Grumpy old woman alert!
PS I used to be a speech therapist.

Jane10 Thu 02-Aug-18 13:04:50

Duh yes!!

SpanielNanny Thu 02-Aug-18 11:23:21

And has it occurred to you, that perhaps now we’re the ‘old people who don’t know any better?’

SpanielNanny Thu 02-Aug-18 11:22:31

Jane10. My dgs was asleep, my dil was using her phone. How was she putting him second to it? And how did it warrant the woman commenting that she ‘shouldn’t be allowed children’??

Jane10 Thu 02-Aug-18 11:09:16

Nope. I just wrote it off as old people who didn't know any better. My children came first last and always. They still do and are far more important than mobile phones.

SpanielNanny Thu 02-Aug-18 11:07:08

And did it not hurt you Jane10? Or irritate you, or make you wish they’d mind their business? Maybe remembering how those unjust criticisms made you feel would serve you well before dishing them out to others.

Kim19 Thu 02-Aug-18 10:45:08

J10, I suspect I should have added an exclamation mark after 'perfect'. Sorry! I'm grinning now.

Jane10 Thu 02-Aug-18 10:06:45

Erm I disagree! I well remember older ladies commenting on how I was with my children when they were young. Apparently I spoilt them! The older generation has always criticised the younger one.

Kim19 Thu 02-Aug-18 09:48:20

Spaniel Nanny, oh how I agree with you. As I read all these judgemental and ignorantly painful criticisms of modern Mums I'm just glad I'm part of that generation where we Mums were all so perfect. Hey ho.