Gransnet forums

News & politics

Elderly?

(70 Posts)
Lucca Sat 07-Mar-20 18:45:07

Saw this somewhere and thought it amusing
“Good to see the government describing over 60s as elderly and vulnerable to corona virus ; when it comes to state pension we are young and fit enough to work until 66+”

Mic74 Sat 14-Mar-20 15:30:16

76 and certainly not elderly.

Classic Sat 14-Mar-20 00:20:33

Pixxie7 I understood that nurses were offered early retirement under a special scheme if they had worked in their unit for a certain amount of years. The nurses I know at the same age as me are retired.

Retired65 Fri 13-Mar-20 20:26:44

I am still working, through choice at 69. I also work in a school.

Maxblank Fri 13-Mar-20 15:08:33

Be greatful you're able to!

I had to give up work years ago due.to health, and mental health.

GrannyFirstLight Fri 13-Mar-20 14:37:16

Wheniwasyourage:

I am your age, recovering from recent cancer surgery and am only carer for disabled/PTSD veteran husband.
No way am I ready to "pop my clogs" yet....so we are taking sensible precautions.
But I agree with you 1000%. It's the well being of my kids and grandkids that concerns me most.

grannyrebel7 Fri 13-Mar-20 14:10:25

I'm a government worker and have been told I cannot come into work due to my age. I'm 64 so don't consider myself elderly and don't think I ever will! What a derogatory term it is just like OAP which I can't stand. The Americans call their older people seniors, which is so much more respectful. Anyway it's not time off as I have to work from home which will drive me stir crazy! Happy days!

Stansgran Fri 13-Mar-20 14:08:12

I too was quite shocked to find I'm Elderly . I'm 74. Quite put out really.

4allweknow Fri 13-Mar-20 13:57:42