Gransnet forums

News & politics

Nadine Dorries tested positive for Corona virus

(15 Posts)
GracesGranMK3 Tue 10-Mar-20 22:41:03

Steven Swinford
(@Steven_Swinford)

EXCLUSIVE Nadine Dorries, a health minister, has become first MP to be diagnosed with coronavirus She has been in Westminster for past week, met hundreds of people, and attended a No 10 reception hosted by Boris Johnson on Thursday

Hetty58 Tue 10-Mar-20 22:43:10

Maybe he'll focus and take the threat seriously now!

tickingbird Tue 10-Mar-20 22:58:45

Who’s going to run the country if the HofC are all sick. We’ll just have to hope DC isn’t infected!!

harrigran Tue 10-Mar-20 22:59:18

I do hope this is a wake up call and the government put measures in place. As a nurse I would have expected her to be clued up and ultra careful.

tickingbird Tue 10-Mar-20 23:05:41

On a more serious note, if she has passed it on to BJ, he was meeting the Queen and other royals a couple of days ago and it’s scary to think she may have been exposed to it. I think it’s time our government took this issue far more seriously.

pinkquartz Tue 10-Mar-20 23:05:52

I also hope it might be a wake up call but think it might just give idiot Johnson an excuse to close parliament.

I have just read how 111 gave the wrong advice out on Monday...telling people returning from Italy to NOT self isolate!
OMG

Eloethan Tue 10-Mar-20 23:20:05

As with many issues that have an impact on the economy, we seem to be getting mixed messages.

We are encouraged not to buy stuff we don't need in order to stop wasting resources and damaging the planet and in order to live within our means. But when people stop buying stuff there are dire predictions and warnings because of the effect on jobs and businesses - and of course the stock market. No wonder people get confused as to what they should do.