Gransnet forums

Relationships

shell shocked

(213 Posts)
Teddy111 Sun 31-Dec-17 11:39:10

We are 69,married over 25 years,he had two heart attacks last year,in CCU 12 nights,I visited every day,always for over 2 to 4 hours.He caught a chest infection day before discharge.I caught it.We had 3 courses of antibiotics and I had to have 2 courses of steroids.I feel very grateful to be alive.We have limped through Christmas ,as my 36yo alcoholic son stayed here.My husband hates him but my son behaved perfectly.I took him back to his flat,he had got the keys on 27th Dec.My husband since finishing work has turned into a policeman.I can only use to washing machine once a week.He announced that instead of bathing once a week,he would have one every 3 weeks to save himself a few bob.He ranted yesterday that he does not intend to make himself poverty stricken by keeping me.There was no row,it was out of the blue.I worked full time as a senior nurse till I retired two years ago at 67.I had always paid all the bills,mortgage,gas,electric,phone,sky,as he was struggling with his lorries.I never saved a penny,just thinking that I would be o.k.when we retired. I had no idea that he apparently hates me like this.I didn't know what to say.

EllanVannin Thu 22-Nov-18 12:53:35

Support in this country is non-existant.Why ?

Teddy111 Thu 22-Nov-18 12:42:47

Thankyou for messages,I have ,in the past been daily to he local council and the alcohol and drug support team,for months.Just after last Christmas , a man who runs a small charity found him a flat,it was in a home run by Nacro,the workers are all ex offenders,etc,there was only supposed to be one man in the flat next door.He allowed a dealer to move in with him,they used an axe to get into my sons flat ,as they knew he had got his benefits that day.

Husband just heard my son phoning and is ranting and shouting ,saying he does not care that he is homeless, he is not coming here.He is not my sons father.