Gransnet forums

Books/book club

Holiday book for 7 yr granddaughter

(10 Posts)
Speechgirl1 Mon 31-Aug-15 08:53:45

I am new to this so hope my ask is ok. Off on first hol with said newly acquired GD and would like a book that I could read chapters to her each night? She veers between quite young in her tastes and 7 going on 17! Any help much appreciated ��

Elrel Mon 31-Aug-15 09:59:29

Jacqueline Wilson - the Hetty Feather series is her latest but there are several earlier titles which are shorter books. The Story of Tracy Beaker, The Mum-Minder, Lizzie Zipmouth, Double Act, Cliffhanger are a few possibilities. Terence Blacker's Ms Wiz series about a magic teacher. Dick King Smith's The Hodgeheg. Anne Fine's Diary of a Killer Cat. Philip Pullman's I was a Rat.
Just a few quick suggestions.

Your local library and bookshop should have someone knowledgeable and there's no substitute for browsing some books yourself, bearing in mind what you know of your granddaughters interests.

You may prefer to read her a favourite of your own or her parents. I think Peter Pan, Alice in Wonderland, the original Winnie the Pooh and Wind in the Willows worth considering. Sure you'll get loads of ideas on this thread anyway. I read to my granddaughter at bedtime most weekends until she was 11. We both enjoyed it which is the whole point. Have a lovely holiday!

Speechgirl1 Mon 31-Aug-15 14:42:35

Thanks very much for you suggestions Elrel - I shall go and have a browse

vampirequeen Mon 31-Aug-15 14:49:01

David Walliams....Gangsta Granny

sherish Tue 01-Sep-15 07:42:52

I am not up to scratch with authors now but when my daughters were around that age they loved anything that fired the imagination. I usually found books that would be about girls that they themselves would like to be like, especially magical ones. Illustrations in the book would be discussed too.

Humbertbear Tue 01-Sep-15 12:50:50